Return to Event

Plenary speakers

andrew-watt-01-1024x521Andrew Watt

Andrew leads a group of 14 scientists on energy materials research from the synthesis of new nanomaterials through to the fabrication, characterization and application of devices in the University of Oxford. The group has considerable experience in the synthesis of nanomaterials, thin film device fabrication, optoelectronic materials characterisation and advanced transmission electron microscopy techniques. Recent highlights include, the demonstration of vacuum thermal evaporation of conducting polymers for solar cells, high resolution TEM imaging of polymer lamellae in bulk heterojunction photovoltaic devices,  and the initial demonstration of a SnS nanocrystal heterojunction thin film photovoltaic devices.



Carlos_Lopez-MariscalcroppedCarlos Lopez-Mariscal

Carlos Lopez-Mariscal completed his BSc and MSc degrees in Physics at Monterrey Tec in Monterrey, Mexico followed by a PhD in Optical Sciences that included a research stay at the University of St Andrews, in Scotland. Currently, Carlos is Lead Optical Scientist at Underwater Photonics and a visiting scholar at the Photonics and Mathematical Optics group at Monterrey Tec. He served as the founding co-Chair of the Optical Trapping and Applications OSA topical meeting for six years, strongly advocating for the increased involvement of young professionals in planning the meeting. Within the Society’s Leadership, he has served as a member of the OPN Editorial Advisory Committee as well as a young professional member of the Long-Term Planning Group of the Publications Council. Carlos also served on the Society’s Member and Education Services (MES) Council and played a key role in the “Optics in Latin America” project as a resource curator and translator. He has represented OSA at the American Institute of Physics as the Chair of the Institute’s Statistical Research Center. Carlos is an avid supporter of OSA’s Traveling Lecturer program and has volunteered extensively as a presenter for the Society and for the OSA Foundation’s initiatives in community and youth science outreach.


Lucas H. GabrielliLucasHGabrielli

Lucas H. Gabrielli graduated Magna cum Laude in Electronics Engineering in 2006 from Aeronautics Institute of Technology (ITA). He obtained his masters’ degrees at University of Campinas (UNICAMP) in 2008 and Cornell University in 2012, and his PhD in nanophotonics in 2012 also at Cornell University. Today Lucas is a professor at the Dept. of Communications in the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering at UNICAMP. His main research focus is in integrated silicon photonic devices with applications in optical communications and biosensing.




Philip RussellPhilipRussel

Professor Philip Russell is a Director at the Max-Planck Institute for the Science of Light (MPL), a position he has  held since January 2009 when MPL was founded. He obtained his D.Phil. (1979) degree at the University of Oxford, spending three years as a Research Fellow at Oriel College, Oxford. In 1982 and 1983 he was a Humboldt Fellow at the Technical University Hamburg-Harburg (Germany), and from 1984 to 1986 he worked at the  University of Nice (France) and the IBM TJ Watson Research Center in Yorktown Heights, New York. From 1986 to 1996 he was based mainly at the University of Southampton. From 1996 to 2005 he was professor in the Department of Physics at the University of Bath. His research interests currently focus on scientific applications of photonic crystal fibres and related structures. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society and the Optical Society of America (OSA) and has won several international awards for his research including the 2000 OSA Joseph Fraunhofer Award/Robert M. Burley Prize, the 2005 Thomas Young Prize of the Institute for Physics (UK), the 2005 Körber Prize for European Science, the 2013 EPS Prize for Research into the Science of Light, the 2014 Berthold Leibinger Zukunftspreis and the 2015 IEEE Photonics Award. He was OSA’s 2015 President, in the International Year of Light.